Tealight Petition Magic

April 15, 2010

In preparation for filming a tealight petition spells video, I figured I should re-post an old post I wrote on this topic, as I’ll be pulling from it when I do the video.

Tealights are great because their burning time is relatively short, they are easy to find, and they’re inexpensive. They are also useful if you want to do the same spell for several days in a row, but you’re a busy person and you don’t want to leave a burning candle unattended.

When I do work, whether it’s for myself or for a client, tealight petition magic is often one of the first ways I consider when thinking about the best way to get something done. You can add whatever type of herb or oil to a tealight, and when it burns out it seals inside itself all the material, making it easy to dispose of. All that’s necessary for simple tealight petition work are:

  • a tealight
  • something to burn it in
  • a piece of paper & a pen
  • herbs or oil, etc of your choice
  • a little bit of time

That’s it! I usually burn my tealights in a glass holder meant for a votive candle, because I feel pretty good about leaving the little candle burning down in the bottom of a big glass cup.

First and foremost, I gather my materials together. If I need to reference what herbs are best for what purpose, I usually turn to Cat Yronwode’s Hoodoo Herb & Root Magic book, but you can use a simple google search to find that kind of information if you need it, too. I take the little wax candle out of its metal cup, setting it to the side.

Once I’ve made sure I have what I need, I’ll take a minute to sit down and write out what it is I’m after. A little piece of paper is best, because you’re going to be folding it up and sticking it under the candle while it burns. An example of this: Let’s say I want to do well in my studies. I’ll write my full name on my little piece of paper, and then I’ll turn it 90 degrees and write what I want over the top of it, covering my name with my desire. So I’d write “first name middle name last name”, turn the paper 90 degrees, and then write something like, “Focus & understanding in my studies — the ability to retain what I learn”, or somesuch. I’ll fold this up and stick it in the bottom of the little metal cup. Sometimes this doesn’t work out because the paper is too big and takes up too much space in my cup — that’s okay. If you don’t want to put the paper down into the cup, just set it to the side. You can burn it in the flame later.

That done, I’ll put a pinch of herb into the bottom of the cup on top of the paper. For my examples, I’m going to mention herbs that are commonly found in kitchens. Since I’m after success in this example, I’ll put a pinch of allspice in my cup, along with a little basil. Both those, by the way, are also useful in matters of luck and money. A bit of cinnamon helps speed my luck along and provide a little protection, and mint can be used for mental strength and clarity. Obviously, the herbs you use will vary by your purpose.

You don’t have to anoint the candle with oil, but I like to. We call this “dressing” the candle, by the way. Because I make my own Has no Hanna, I’d use that for this example — all purpose luck, etc — it would be a good choice. You can experiment with oil making or look around online or in your city for pagan shops that sell oils. I tend to apply the oil with one fingertip to a tealight, and I start with top, to which I apply the oil in a clockwise fashion. Tealights are so small that I don’t really bother with more ceremonial or ritualistic ways of dressing them, but if you’re interested in knowing how I dress larger candles, feel free to ask. Once the top is dressed, I’ll do the same thing around the sides of the candle, and then to the bottom. As you do this, concentrate on what it is you want. This should be a thoughtful process.

When the candle is dressed with oil, I usually tip it on its side in the cup and roll its edge in whatever herbs are inside. This prevents mess, and the oil will help powdered herbs and such stick to the wax of the candle. Once I’ve done that, I’ll pop the tealight back into its metal cup, and put it into the holder I’m using the burn it. If the paper is inside, we’re pretty much done — just pause, say out loud whatever it is you want, add a little prayer if you believe in deities and want their assistance, and light the candle! Let it burn itself out undisturbed.

If your paper is not in the little metal cup, go ahead and light your candle and stick it in the holder. Now take your paper and once again, say out loud whatever it is you want. We say things aloud to “announce” them to the universe, or to make them more “real”. Once you’ve said your piece, hold the corner of the paper to the candle’s flame. Allow the whole paper to be consumed by the fire in whatever manner is the safest and most appropriate to you. That done, let the candle burn itself out.

Leave a Reply

